Meet the first class of the Flinn-Brown Civic Leadership Academy

February 25, 2011

By The Arizona Center for Civic Leadership

Twenty-five future Arizona leaders, drawn from across the state and numerous professions, have been selected to participate in this spring’s inaugural class of the Flinn-Brown Civic Leadership Academy. The Academy is one of three core components of the Arizona Center for Civic Leadership.

The 12-session seminar series, which emphasizes the skills and information needed to accomplish state-level goals, will begin Friday, March 11, continuing through May 20.

The nonpartisan Academy’s content is based on the issues facing Arizona’s leaders today and in the near term. Past and present practitioners, scholars, leaders, and experts—from the public and private sectors—will provide facts and figures as well as a wide variety of perspectives and leadership skills. The seminars are just one part of the academy, which also includes mentoring, an individual plan for civic leadership, and an alumni network.

The 25 Flinn-Brown Fellows were selected in a competitive process that involved formal nominations, a written application, and an in-person interview. The Leadership Council of the Arizona Center for Civic Leadership made the final selection of Fellows.

The Academy is presented twice each year–the Fall class will begin in September. Information about becoming a member of the second Flinn-Brown Civic Leadership Academy will be available on the Arizona Center for Civic Leadership’s website no later than March 1.

Spring 2011 Flinn-Brown Fellows

Steve AcevedoSteve Acevedo, Tucson

Police Officer, City of Tucson

Paul BrierleyPaul Brierley, Gilbert

Director of Organization, Arizona Farm Bureau Federation

Juan CiscomaniJuan Ciscomani,
Senior Program Development Specialist, Take Charge America Institute,
University of Arizona
Dustin CoxDustin Cox, Tucson

President, CM Concordia Consulting, LLC

Kim DemarchiKim Demarchi, J.D., Phoenix

Partner, Lewis and Roca, LLP

Coral EvansCoral Evans, Flagstaff

Director, Sunnyside Neighborhood Association of Flagstaff;
Councilmember, City of Flagstaff

Robert Fromm, M.D.Rob Fromm, M.D., Phoenix

Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Maricopa Integrated
Health System

David Garcia, Ph.D.David Garcia, Ph.D., Tempe

Associate Professor, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, Arizona State

Ben GraffBen Graff, J.D., Phoenix

Attorney, Lazarus & Associates, PC

Nora HannahNora Hannah, Phoenix

Chief Consortium Officer, Experience Matters Consortium

Jenny HolsmanJenny Holsman, J.D., Tempe

Executive Director, Arizona State University Alumni Association

Alisa LyonsAlisa Lyons, Phoenix

President, Sloan Lyons Public Affairs

Chad MarchandChad Marchand, Tucson

Community Justice Unit Supervisor, CARGO Director, Pima County
Attorney’s Office

Patrick Marcus, Ph.D.Patrick Marcus, Ph.D., Tucson

President, Marcus Engineering, LLC

David MartinezDavid Martinez III, Phoenix

Government Affairs Director, Arizona Students’ Association

Frank McCuneFrank McCune, Phoenix

Executive Director, Valley Leadership

Patrick McWhorterPatrick McWhortor, Cave Creek

President and CEO, Alliance of Arizona Nonprofits

J.C. Mutchler, Ph.D.J.C. Mutchler,
Sierra Vista
Associate Professor, Department of History, University of Arizona
Alberto OlivasAlberto Olivas, Mesa

Director, Center for Civic Participation, Maricopa Community College

Benah Parker, Ph.D.Benah Parker, Ph.D., Mesa

Director of Education Policy, Center for the Future of Arizona

Sara PreslerSara Presler, J.D., Flagstaff

Attorney; Mayor, City of Flagstaff

Bill RingBill Ring, J.D., Flagstaff

Attorney, William P. Ring, P.C.

Fernando ShipleyFernando Shipley, Globe

Agent, State Farm Insurance; Mayor, City of Globe

Keri SilvynKeri Silvyn, J.D., Tucson

Partner, Lewis and Roca, LLP

Lisa UriasLisa Urias, Scottsdale

President, Urias Communications