22nd class of 20 Flinn Scholars chosen

May 24, 2007

By hammersmith

[Source: Arizona Republic] — Twenty Arizona high school seniors have been awarded Flinn Foundation Scholarships worth more than $50,000 apiece. The award provides four years of study at an Arizona university, academic-focused travel abroad and personal mentorship by faculty members. The 22nd class of Flinn scholars includes students from 18 high schools in 11 Arizona cities and towns.

“These remarkable students could have chosen to attend virtually any college or university in the nation, many with attractive scholarship offers,” said John W. Murphy, Flinn Foundation president and CEO. “Their commitment to study in Arizona is a testament to the strength and reputation of our universities.”

As a group, the class averaged scores of 1,435 of a possible 1,600 on the Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT) and 32 of a possible 36 on the American College Test (ACT). The Flinn Scholars Program is run by a private philanthropy. Click here for more information.

Flinn Foundation Scholarship winners:

  • Clark Alves, St. Johns High School, St. Johns
  • Shruti Bala, Barry Goldwater High School, Phoenix
  • Ellen Chang, Corona del Sol High School, Tempe
  • Bobby Cottam and Mary Beth Hutchinson, Red Mountain High School, Mesa
  • Quinney Fu and Arielle King, Dobson High School, Mesa
  • Mark Jeng, Desert Vista High School, Phoenix
  • Margo Johnson, Tucson High Magnet School, Tucson
  • Charles Mackin Jr., Buena High School, Sierra Vista
  • Efren Martinez, Alhambra High School, Phoenix
  • Jared Neufer, Phoenix Country Day School, Paradise Valley
  • Kathryn Scheckel, Xavier College Preparatory, Phoenix
  • Tracy Sheldahl, Cibola High School, Yuma
  • Amy Stabler, Thunderbird High School, Phoenix
  • Juhyung Sun, Canyon del Oro High School, Oro Valley
  • Sarah Trainor, Flowing Wells High School, Tucson
  • Huan (Sam) Wang, Chandler High School, Chandler
  • Niko Warner, Salpointe Catholic High School, Tucson
  • Cole Wirpel, Rio Rico High School, Rio Rico