80 Arizona high-school seniors named 2024 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists

January 5, 2024

By brianpowell

The 80 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists from the Class of 2024 will participate in preliminary interviews later this month as they pursue Arizona’s most competitive merit-based college scholarship.

The excelling high-school seniors were selected as Semifinalists from more than 1,000 applicants and in so doing have already earned a generous scholarship offer from Arizona’s public universities.

The Flinn Scholars Class of 2024 will be announced by the Flinn Foundation in the spring.

The Flinn Scholarship, now in its 39th year, provides funding for tuition, housing, meals, and study abroad—a value of more than $130,000. 

About 20 Arizona students will be selected for the award and attend Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, or the University of Arizona in the fall.

Each Flinn Scholarship Semifinalist who is not ultimately selected as a Flinn Scholar will receive a $15,000 annual scholarship if they attend one of the state’s three public universities.

“Being named a Flinn Scholarship Semifinalist is an incredible validation of these students’ achievements,” said Anne Lassen, Flinn Foundation vice president, scholarship and education initiatives. “Our university partners recognize their potential and are now making a strong pitch for them to choose an Arizona university where they can further develop their academic and leadership talents and better our state.”

The 80 Semifinalists attend 63 high schools, including traditional public, charter, and private schools, in 26 towns and cities. These schools are in the heart of the Arizona’s largest cities and in communities along the Colorado River, the U.S.-Mexico border and on the Navajo Nation. Ten of Arizona’s 15 counties are represented among the Semifinalists.

Arizona College Prep High School in Chandler, Desert Vista High School in Phoenix, Ironwood High School in Glendale, and University High School in Tucson each had three Semifinalists, while eight high schools had two Semifinalists each.

The Semifinalist interviews will be held virtually Jan. 23 and 24. About 40 Flinn Scholarship Finalists will advance to an in-person interview with the program’s Selection Committee in March at the Flinn Foundation.  

The Class of 2024 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists, including high school and city of residence, are:

Avalon Alexander, River Valley High School, Mohave Valley

Pranav Arun, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Carolyn Austin, Shadow Ridge High School, El Mirage

Mayte Bañuelos, Nogales High School, Nogales

Ronak Bhatia, Perry High School, Chandler

Gowri Shankar Biju, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Matthew Boelts, Gila Ridge High School, Yuma

Vyktorianna Bowler, Holbrook High School, Holbrook

Molly Budhiraja, BASIS Peoria, Glendale

Kipree Carlisle, Franklin Police and Fire High School, Phoenix

Nicholas Carlsson, Gilbert Classical Academy High School, Gilbert

Nico Castagna, Arizona College Prep High School, Mesa

Raegan Corlett, Sunnyslope High School, Phoenix

Leanna Payan Delgado, Pueblo High Magnet School, Tucson

Saige Douglass, Arizona School for the Arts, Scottsdale

Mikah Dyer, Ironwood High School, Peoria

Sara Edmondson, Mountain View High School, Mesa

Emma Ellexson, Desert Vista High School, Phoenix

Hudson Fagan, Red Mountain High School, Mesa

Nathaniel George, Brophy College Preparatory, Phoenix

Ben Gerber, University High School, Tucson

Sage Glonek, Queen Creek High School, San Tan Valley

Swanuja Godasi, Arizona College Prep High School, Chandler

Chloe Greetis, Chaparral High School, Phoenix

Kayle Heidemann, Yuma Catholic High School, Yuma

Luis Hernandez, Bioscience High School, Phoenix

Isabella Hineman, Glendale Preparatory Academy, Peoria

Sunmit Hallur, BASIS Peoria, Phoenix

Fiona Janik, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff

Priti Kari, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

Filimon Kednmarey, Maricopa High School, Maricopa

Vincent Lageschulte, Ironwood High School, Glendale

Emma Langlais, Ironwood Ridge High School, Tucson

Sophia Le, Ironwood High School, Glendale

Katherine Lee, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff

Cora Lehman, Tombstone High School, Sierra Vista

Gabriel Lopez, Gilbert High School, Gilbert

Allison Mannon, Williams Field High School, Gilbert

Alessandro Marcolini, Glendale Preparatory Academy, Glendale

Jared Matheson, University High School, Tucson

Aanand Mehta, BASIS Phoenix, Phoenix

Aastha Mittal, Paradise Valley High School, Scottsdale

Gauri Murkoth, Arizona College Prep High School, Chandler

Ursula Myron-Salvata, Tuba City High School, Tuba City

Kevin Neese, Canyon Del Oro High School, Oro Valley

David Ortloff, Desert Mountain High School, Scottsdale

Simon Pelfrey, Casa Grande Union High School, Casa Grande

Emilie Pierzina, Dobson High School, Chandler

Lauren Pfaff, Sedona Red Rock High School, Sedona

Anthony Quezada, Maricopa Institute of Technology, Phoenix

Ariana Rahman, BASIS Chandler, Chandler

Zahrah Ralph, Mountain Ridge High School, Peoria

Caleb Rasor, BASIS Oro Valley, Marana

Bijan Razaghi, Scottsdale Christian Academy, Paradise Valley

Mason Reidhead, Snowflake High School, Snowflake

Max Robison, Highland High School, Gilbert

Seth Rojas, Catalina Foothills High School, Tucson

Caitlyn Rosenbluth, Tucson Magnet High School, Tucson

Timothy Russoniello, Maricopa High School, Maricopa

Lauren Saba, The Jones-Gordon School, Scottsdale

Brendan Salisbury, Barry Goldwater High School, Desert Hills

Luna Sebastian-Isaac, Amphitheater High School, Tucson

Yameen Sekandari, Mountain Ridge High School, Glendale

Nikhil Sethi, Saguaro High School, Phoenix

Rayna Smith, Gilbert Early College High School, Gilbert

Cole Steinmetz, Cibola High School, Yuma

Daniel Tang, Greenway High School, Phoenix

Joshua Tom, Lincoln Preparatory Academy, Chandler

Jennifer Orozco Torres, University High School, Tucson

Sanjana Tripuraneni, Basha High School, Chandler

Gaven Trusty, Bradshaw Mountain High School, Dewey-Humboldt

Sophia Tsai, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

Ava Usher, Pinnacle High School, Phoenix

Edward Wang, BASIS Flagstaff, Flagstaff

Margaret Wang, Corona del Sol High School, Chandler

Jake Weiss, Saguaro High School, Scottsdale

Summer Whitmer, Vista Grande High School, Casa Grande

Elia Woods, Desert Vista High School, Phoenix

Ruby Wray, Catalina Foothills High School, Tucson

Savannah Yu, Desert Vista High School, Phoenix