82 Arizona students one step closer to Flinn Scholarship 

January 10, 2023

By Jessica Vaile

More than 80 high-achieving Arizona high-school seniors seeking the Flinn Scholarship have been named Semifinalists, advancing to an interview later this month. 

The 82 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists were selected from 1,045 applications received from Arizona’s urban, rural, and tribal communities for the merit-based scholarship. 

Now in its 38th year, the Flinn Scholarship includes funding for tuition, housing, meals, and study abroad—a value of more than $130,000. About 20 Arizona high-school seniors are selected each year and attend the Honors colleges of the state’s three public universities.

The Flinn Scholars Class of 2023 will be announced in April.

By being named Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists, the 82 students qualify for a specially designated scholarship from Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, or the University of Arizona.

“To come this far in our very competitive process is an honor earned by just 8% of applicants from around the state. These students impressed reviewers with their academic achievement, service, and leadership,” said Anne Lassen, Flinn Foundation vice president, scholarship and education initiatives. “Our partners in this program, Arizona’s public universities, recognize the significance of reaching this stage and offer generous awards to those Semifinalists who are not ultimately chosen as Flinn Scholars.”   

The Semifinalists will interview on Jan. 24 and 25. About 40 students will be selected as Flinn Scholarship Finalists and interview again in March with a five-person Selection Committee at the Flinn Foundation.   

The Semifinalists represent 59 traditional public, charter, and private high schools, and include one home-schooled student. Arizona College Prep High School in Chandler, Hamilton High School in Chandler, and University High School in Tucson each have four 2023 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists. Basha High School in Chandler and BASIS Tucson North were next with three students apiece. Seven Arizona counties are represented: Coconino, Gila, Maricopa, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, and Yuma. 

The Class of 2023 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists, including high school and city of residence, are:

Baraa Abdelghne, Saguaro High School, Scottsdale

Marina Abdelmalak, Chandler Preparatory Academy, Mesa

Irais Aguilar Coconi, Trevor Browne High School, Glendale

Shria Ajay, BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale

Tori Barrera, Campo Verde High School, Gilbert

Cameron Bautista, Basha High School, Gilbert

Sam Benavidez, North Phoenix Preparatory Academy, Scottsdale

Riley Biter, Poston Butte High School, San Tan Valley

Jack Boylan, Catalina Foothills High School, Tucson

Jewelya Brambila, University High School-Tucson, Tucson

Dean Brasen, Arizona College Prep High School, Chandler

Joshua Bunnell, Youngker High School, Buckeye

Camille Campbell, Home School, Scottsdale

Carol Chen, Hamilton High School, Gilbert

Joseph Chen, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Richa Chirravuri, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Hailey Chulamorkodt, Cibola High School, Yuma

Ruth Cox, Deer Valley High School, Glendale

Ryan Crane, BASIS Flagstaff, Flagstaff

Ariana Delgadillo, Bioscience High School, Phoenix

Vidya Desai, Pinnacle High School, Phoenix

Isabella DiPonio, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

Megan Dowd, Arizona College Prep High School, Gilbert

Jakob Dueck, Dobson High School, Mesa

Efren Figueroa, San Luis High School, San Luis

Anacarolina Flores, San Luis High School, San Luis

Marshall Frank, Bradshaw Mountain High School, Prescott

Samantha Gallegos, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff

Elizabeth Ghartey, BASIS Mesa, Gilbert

Matthew Gibson, Desert View High School, Tucson

Natali Giron Terrazas, Maryvale High School, Glendale

Samuel Gonzalez, Pueblo High Magnet School, Tucson

Rachana Gurudu, BASIS Scottsdale, Phoenix 

Evan Hankinson, Campo Verde High School, Gilbert

Biruni Hariadi, Herberger Young Scholars Academy, Phoenix

Quinlan Harris, Red Mountain High School, Mesa

Laci Heap, Williams Field High School, Gilbert

Hannah Hindman, Marana High School, Marana

Allyson Huynh, Basha High School, Gilbert

Tatsat Jha, Corona Del Sol High School, Tempe

Makayla Johnson, Marcos De Niza High School, Tempe

Fatem Kadhem, Valley Vista High School, El Mirage

Mihira Karnik, Arizona College Prep High School, Chandler

Josie Klindt, Miami High School, Miami

Sai Konkimalla, University High School-Tucson, Oro Valley

Mikhaelah Kounouho, BASIS Peoria, Phoenix

Sneha Lakamsani, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Anika Lanke, BASIS Chandler, Gilbert

Merilyn Li, Corona Del Sol High School, Chandler

Tommy Liddy, Brophy College Preparatory, Scottsdale

Aidan Lin, Brophy College Preparatory, Scottsdale

Sofia Llanos, Basha High School, Chandler

Janizela Nicole Millanes, University High School-Tolleson, Avondale

Diya Nath, Arizona College Prep High School, Chandler

Jackie No, University High School-Tucson, Tucson

Daniel Nwazue, Centennial High School, Glendale

Zack Okun, Desert Mountain High School, Scottsdale

Lorraine Osterling, Casteel High School, Gilbert

McKinley Paltzik, Phoenix Country Day School, Scottsdale

Anagh Pandya, Pinnacle High School, Phoenix

Nagasriya Ramisetty, BASIS Peoria, Phoenix

Taylor Raney, Mountain Ridge High School, Glendale

Hazel Ray, James Madison Preparatory School, Phoenix

Maza Reyes, Arizona School For The Arts, Phoenix

Morgan Reyes, American Leadership Academy – Gilbert North, Queen Creek

Michael-Anthony Rodriguez, Santa Cruz Valley Union High School, Eloy

Steven Rourick, Shadow Mountain High School, Phoenix

Jude Saarenas, St. John Paul II Catholic High School, Phoenix

Gia Saggar, Paradise Valley High School, Paradise Valley

Angela Sanchez, Bioscience High School, Phoenix

Sammy Sandhu, BASIS Oro Valley, Oro Valley

Davyn Scott, Heritage Academy Gateway, San Tan Valley

Amy Senkerik, Ironwood Ridge High School, Tucson

Emily Shanafelt, Millennium High School, Goodyear

Nathan Taylor, Superior Senior High School, Superior

Madeline Trilling, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff

Abi Urbina-Bernal, Sunrise Mountain High School, Litchfield Park

Xitlali Vazquez, Greenway High School, Phoenix

Andrew Wei, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

Kaylee Woods, Cibola High School, Yuma

Wenli Xu, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

North Zhang, University High School-Tucson, Tucson